Who we are

Providing finance for your projects

The Off-Grid Market Development Fund (OMDF) aims to accelerate access to sustainable electricity in Madagascar using off-grid solar solutions.

With our financing and your experience, we will work together to achieve sustainable electrification in Madagascar.

Our Partners

OMDF is part of the LEAD project (“Least-Cost Electricity Access Development Project”), an initiative of the Malagasy Government, led by the Ministry of Energy and Hydrocarbons (MEH) and financed by the World Bank.

Bamboo Capital Partners has been appointed as manager of OMDF and partnered with Société Générale Madagasikara.

Our goal

What we want to achieve?

To achieve these objectives, OMDF offers grants and debt investments. It is capitalized with USD 40,000,000 and has a mandate until June 2024.

Increasing access to electricity in Madagascar

by providing access to electricity to at least 300,000 households and small and medium-sized enterprises ("SMEs")

Engaging the private sector

in order to develop a prosperous and sustainable market, in which companies will have the capacity to operate and grow without subsidies after OMDF project is completed

Providing funding

in the most appropriate and optimal way while protecting the interests of the Malagasy Government.

Meet the team

Christian Schattenmann

Fund Manager

Katja Tauchnitz

Senior Investment Manager

Liva Jeannoda

Senior Investment Manager

Mbato Rakotoarisoa

Investment Analyst

Hery Tiana Razafitsiafajato

Investment Analyst

Daniel Rakoto

Investment Analyst

Mirantsoa Hanitriniaina

Administrative support

Stewart Hicks

Senior Operating Partner

Ngare Muhindi

Investment Associate

Christian Schattenmann

Fund Manager

Christian Schattenmann holds the role of Fund Manager and is in charge of energy access activities at Bamboo Capital Partners.

Specializing in off-grid electricity investments, he has led multiple investments in energy access companies in the form of debt and equity participation.He has many years of experience as a member of the board of directors,both in startups and mid-sized companies.

Before joining Bamboo Capital Partners, Christian worked as CFO at PACT, a German-based Semiconductor Company.Prior to that, he was Investment Manager at the Venture Capital Group Pari Capital.For more than 20 years,Christian was directly involved – both on the buy and sell-side – in structuring and implementing a wide range of financing instruments. Previously Christian has also worked for an international law firm and a non-profit organization in Central America.

A lawyer by training, Christian also holds an MBA and speaks German, French, English, and Spanish.

Katja Tauchnitz

Senior Investment Manager

Katja is a Senior Investment Manager at Bamboo Capital Partners. Her focus is the Off-Grid Market Development Fund (OMDF) in Madagascar which aims to provide access to clean energy through solar off-grid technology.

She has been working for more than ten years in renewable energy with a focus on finance, including at a development bank and a leading consultancy firm specialized in development cooperation. Most recently, she worked as a team leader for the German development agency (GIZ) in Madagascar to improve the framework conditions for investments in renewable energies.

Liva Jeannoda

Senior Investment Manager

Liva is a Senior Investment Manager with Bamboo Capital Partners. Her focus is the Off-Grid Market Development Fund (OMDF) in Madagascar which aims to provide access to clean energy through solar off-grid technology.

Prior to OMDF she worked for more than 15 years with Société Générale Madagasikara in the credit department.

Liva holds a Master’s Degree in Business from the Faculté de Droit, Economie et Gestion, University of Antananarivo. She also holds a diploma in bank management from The Institut Technique de la Banque.

She is fluent in Malagasy and French and English.

Mbato Rakotoarisoa

Investment Analyst

Mbato is an Investment analyst working on the Off-Grid Market Development Fund project which aims to provide access to clean energy through solar off-grid technology.

He has been working for the Société Générale Madagasikara for six years as a credit analyst and also as the supervisor of the management control.

Mbato holds a Master’s Degree in Finance and Banking from the Institut National des Sciences Comptables et Administration d’Entreprises of Antananarivo and a Master’s degree in Financial Diagnosis from IAE Lyon – Université Jean Moulin.

He is fluent in Malagasy and French.

Hery Tiana Razafitsiafajato

Investment Analyst

Hery Tiana RAZAFITSIAFAJATO is an investment analyst working on the Off-Grid Market Development Fund which aims to provide access to clean energy in Madagascar through solar off-grid technology.

Previously he has been working for four years as a credit analyst for Société Générale Madagasikara and for one year as a market analyst for the Talys group.

He holds a Master degree in Corporate Finance from Institut National des Sciences Comptables et de l’Administration d’Entreprises (INSCAE) and a Master degree in Financial Diagnosis from IAE Lyon – Université Jean Moulin.

He speaks Malagasy, French, and English.

Daniel Rakoto

Investment Analyst

Daniel is an investment analyst in Madagascar who is currently working on the Off-Grid Market Development Fund (OMDF) which aims to promote access to clean energy through the use of solar off-grid technology.

Prior to this position, he has been working for the renowned Malagasy audit firm Cabinet Exa for four years as an auditor and accountant.

He holds an MSc in Accounting and Finance from the University of Edinburgh in the UK and a joint Master’s degree with a specialization in Accounting, Control, and Audit from INSCAE Madagascar and IAE Poitiers, France.

He is fluent in Malagasy, French, and English.

Mirantsoa Hanitriniaina

Administrative support

Mirantsoa is an assistant based in Madagascar and working on the Off-Grid Market Development Fund project which aims to provide access to clean energy through solar off-grid technology.

Before joining OMDF, she has been working for BNI Madagasikara as an e-money operations manager.

She holds a master’s degree in Business Informatics from the Centre National de Télé-Enseignement de Madagascar.

She is fluent in Malagasy, French and English.

Stewart Hicks

Senior Operating Partner

Stewart Hicks is a Senior Operating Partner with Bamboo Capital Partners, where he focuses on their India investments. Prior to joining Bamboo Capital Partners Stewart worked for GIC, the Singapore Government’s sovereign wealth fund, based in Singapore, as part of their portfolio group; advising on investment opportunities and sitting on boards on investee companies, mainly in the area of manufacturing, infrastructure, and natural resources.

Prior to GIC, Stewart worked for the IFC (World Bank Group) based in Washington DC, evaluating investments. During this period, he spent 14 months in China assisting SME. Prior to IFC Stewart was responsible for various manufacturing companies in Europe, the US, and Asia, mainly in the mechanical, electrical, and electronics sectors. Stewart has a Physics degree from Oxford University and an MBA from London Business School.

Ngare Muhindi

Investment Associate

Ngare is an Investment Associate at Bamboo Capital’s Nairobi office. Most recently, he was an Investment Analyst within the Private Wealth Management team at Dyer & Blair Investment Bank, an East Africa focused investment bank. Prior to that, Ngare gained experience in research and statistics at the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) in Vienna, Austria and later in portfolio management and corporate finance working in roles executing financial due diligence and capital raising mandates for companies operating in the education, real estate, micro-finance, energy infrastructure and hospitality sectors in East Africa.

Ngare holds a BSc in Economics from the University of York and an MSc in Development Economics from the University of Birmingham and is a Level II candidate in the CFA Program.

He is fluent in English, French, and Kiswahili and is currently studying Mandarin Chinese.

Submit a project

If you are interested in the different types of funding offered, please contact us.

Ce que nous sommes

Finançons ensemble vos projets

Le Fonds de développement des marchés hors réseau (« OMDF », Off-Grid Market Development Fund, en anglais) vise à accélérer l’accès à l’électricité à Madagascar durable par des solutions solaires hors réseau.

Nos financements, conjugués à votre savoir faire, nous permettrons de contribuer ensemble à l’électrification durable de Madagascar.

Nos partenaires

L’OMDF est une composante du projet LEAD (« Least-Cost Electricity Access Development Project »), initié par le Gouvernement Malgache, confié au Ministère de l’Energie et des Hydrocarbures (MEH) et financé par la Banque Mondiale.

Bamboo Capital Partners a été désignée comme gestionnaire du fonds OMDF et a elle-même conclu un accord de partenariat avec la Société Générale Madagasikara.

Notre objectif

Ce que nous voulons atteindre et réaliser

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, l’OMDF offre des subventions et des crédits. Le fonds, qui prendra fin en Juin 2024, est capitalisé à hauteur de USD 40 000 000.

Accroître l'accès à l'électricité à Madagascar

en fournissant un accès à l’électricité à au moins 300 000 foyers et petites ou moyennes entreprises (« PME »)

Mobiliser le secteur privé

afin d’en faire un marché prospère et durable, dans lequel les entreprises auront la capacité d’opérer et de se développer sans subventions d'ici fin de l’OMDF

Octroyer du financement

de façon optimale en protégeant les intérêts du Gouvernement de Madagascar.

Rencontrez l’équipe

Christian Schattenmann

Fund Manager

Katja Tauchnitz

Senior Investment Manager

Liva Jeannoda

Senior Investment Manager

Mbato Rakotoarisoa

Investment Analyst

Hery Tiana Razafitsiafajato

Investment Analyst

Daniel Rakoto

Investment Analyst

Mirantsoa Hanitriniaina

Administrative support

Stewart Hicks

Senior Operating Partner

Ngare Muhindi

Investment Associate

Christian Schattenmann

Fund Manager

Christian Schattenmann tient le rôle de Gestionnaire de fonds et est en charge des activités d’accès à l’énergie chez Bamboo Capital Partners.

Spécialisé en investissements dans l’électricité hors-réseaux, il a dirigé de multiples investissements dans des entreprises d’accès à l’énergie sous forme de dette et participation en capital. Il a de nombreuses années d’expérience en tant que membre du conseil d’administration, à la fois dans des startups et des entreprises de taille moyenne.

Avant de rejoindre Bamboo Capital Partners en 2007, Christian a travaillé en tant que directeur financier chez PACT, une société allemande de semi-conducteurs. Auparavant, il était responsable d’investissements dans une société de capital-risque. Pendant plus de 20 ans, Christian a participé dans la structuration et mise en place d’une large gamme d’instruments financiers. Auparavant, Christian a également travaillé pour un cabinet international d’avocats et une organisation à but non lucratif en Amérique centrale.

Avocat de formation, Christian est aussi titulaire d’un MBA et parle allemand, français, anglais, et espagnol.

Katja Tauchnitz

Senior Investment Manager

Katja est un responsable d’investissement Senior de Bamboo Capital Partners. Elle se focalise actuellement sur le Fonds de développement des marchés hors réseau (OMDF) à Madagascar, qui a pour objectif de donner l’accès à l’énergie verte via l’utilisation de produits solaires hors réseau.

Elle a travaillé depuis plus de 10 ans dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables spécifiquement en finance, notamment dans une banque de développement et un cabinet de conseil spécialisé dans la coopération au développement. Dernièrement, elle a travaillé comme chef d’équipe pour l’agence allemande de développement (GIZ) à Madagascar afin d’améliorer le cadre des conditions d’investissement dans les énergies renouvelables.

Liva Jeannoda

Senior Investment Manager

Liva est un responsable d’investissement Senior de Bamboo Capital Partners. Elle se focalise actuellement sur le Fonds de développement des marchés hors réseau (OMDF) à Madagascar, qui a pour objectif de donner l’accès à l’énergie verte via l’utilisation de produits solaires hors réseau.

Elle a travaillé plus de 15 ans au sein de la direction des relations entreprises de la Société Générale Madagasikara.

Liva est titulaire d’un Master’s Degree en Business de la Faculté de Droit, Économie et Gestion de l’Université d’Antananarivo. Elle est également titulaire d’un diplôme en Management Bancaire provenant de l’Institut Technique de la Banque.

Elle parle couramment le malgache, le français et l’anglais.

Mbato Rakotoarisoa

Investment Analyst

Mbato est un analyste d’investissement qui travaille actuellement sur le projet de Fonds de développement du marché hors réseau (OMDF) qui a pour objectif de donner l’accès à une énergie plus propre par l’utilisation de produits solaires hors réseau.

Il a travaillé pour la Société Générale Madagasikara depuis 6 ans comme analyste de crédit et également en tant que responsable du contrôle de gestion.

Mbato est titulaire d’un Master’s Degree en Finance et Banque de l’Institut National des Sciences Comptables et Administration d’Entreprises d’Antananarivo et d’un Master’s Degree en Diagnostic Financier de l’IAE Lyon – Université Jean Moulin.

Il parle couramment le malgache, le français et l’anglais.

Hery Tiana Razafitsiafajato

Investment Analyst

Hery Tiana est un analyste d’investissement qui travaille sur le Fonds de développement du marché hors réseau (OMDF) à Madagascar qui vise à promouvoir l’accès à l’énergie verte via l’utilisation de produits solaires hors réseau.

Auparavant, il a travaillé pendant 4 ans comme analyste de crédit pour la Société Générale Madagasikara et récemment pour une durée de 1 an, en tant qu’analyste de marché du groupe Talys.

Il est titulaire d’un Master’s Degree en Finance d’Entreprise de l’Institut National des Sciences Comptables et de l’Administration d’Entreprises de Madagascar et d’un Master’s Degree en Diagnostic Financier de l’IAE Lyon – Université Jean Moulin.

Il parle couramment le malgache, le français et l’anglais.

Daniel Rakoto

Investment Analyst

Daniel est un analyste d’investissement basé à Madagascar qui travaille actuellement sur le Fonds de développement des marchés hors réseau (OMDF) qui vise à promouvoir l’accès à l’énergie verte via l’utilisation de produits solaires hors réseau.

Avant d’occuper ce poste, il a travaillé pendant 4 ans en tant qu’auditeur financier au sein du cabinet d’audit malgache Exa.

Il est titulaire d’un Master’s Degree en Comptabilité et Finance de l’Université d’Édimbourg et d’un Master’s Degree spécialisé en Comptabilité, Contrôle et Audit de l’Institut National des Sciences Comptables et Administration d’Entreprises de Madagascar et de l’IAE Poitiers, en France.

Il parle couramment le malgache, le français et l’anglais.

Mirantsoa Hanitriniaina

Administrative support

Mirantsoa est une assistante basé à Madagascar qui travaille actuellement sur le Fonds de développement des marchés hors réseau (OMDF) qui vise à promouvoir l’accès à l’énergie verte via l’utilisation de produits solaires hors réseau.

Avant, elle a travaillé pendant 4mois comme chargée d’opération monnaie électronique pour la BNI Madagasikara.

Elle est titulaire d’un Master’s Degree en Informatique de Gestion du Centre National de Télé-Enseignement de Madagascar.

Elle parle couramment le malgache, le français et l’anglais.

Stewart Hicks

Senior Operating Partner

Stewart Hicks est un associé principal de Bamboo Capital Partners qui se charge principalement de leurs investissements en Inde. Avant de rejoindre Bamboo Capital Partners, Stewart a travaillé à Singapour pour le GIC, le fonds souverain du gouvernement de Singapour, et dans le cadre de leur portefeuille ; a conseillé sur les opportunités d’investissement et siégé aux conseils d’administration des entreprises bénéficiaires, principalement dans le domaine de l’industrie, des infrastructures et des ressources naturelles.

Avant le GIC, Stewart a travaillé pour l’IFC (Groupe de la Banque mondiale) basé à Washington DC, où il évaluait les investissements. Pendant cette période, il a passé 14 mois en Chine pour aider les PME. Avant l’IFC, Stewart était responsable de diverses industries en Europe, aux États-Unis et en Asie, principalement dans les secteurs de la mécanique, de l’électricité et de l’électronique. Stewart est titulaire d’un diplôme de Physique de l’Université d’Oxford et d’un MBA de London Business School.

Ngare Muhindi

Investment Associate

Ngare est un responsable adjoint d’investissement chez Bamboo Capital Nairobi. Récemment, il était analyste d’investissement au sein de l’équipe de gestion de patrimoine privé de Dyer & Blair Investment Bank, une banque d’investissement axée sur l’Afrique de l’Est. Avant cela, Ngare a  acquis une grande expérience dans la recherche et les statistiques au sein de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour le développement industriel (ONUDI) à Vienne, en Autriche, puis dans la gestion de portefeuille et la finance d’entreprise, où il a occupé des fonctions assurant la due diligence financière et a été mandaté pour la mobilisation de capitaux pour des sociétés opérant dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de l’immobilier, de la microfinance, des infrastructures énergétiques et de l’hôtellerie en Afrique de l’Est.

Ngare est titulaire d’un Bachelor’s Degree en Économie de l’Université de York et d’un Master’s Degree en Économie du Développement de l’Université de Birmingham et est candidat au niveau II du programme CFA.

Il parle couramment l’anglais, le français et le kiswahili et étudie actuellement le mandarin.

Soumettre un projet

Si vous êtes intéressés par les financements proposés, veuillez nous contacter